PR No.72 Islamabad

Envoys designate of Iraq, India, Czech Republic, Afghanistan, Thailand, Ireland and Cambodia presented their credentials to President Mamnoon Hussain on Tuesday at an impressive ceremony held at the Aiwan-e-Sadr.

Earlier, each envoy-designate arrived at the main gate of the Aiwan-e-Sadr in a horse driven carriage. On the occasion, the National Anthem of Pakistan and their respective countries were played and the envoys designate were also presented Guard of Honour.

Later, the Ambassadors and High Commissioners separately called on the President. Speaking on the occasion, the President said that Pakistan is desirous of further promoting friendly and brotherly relations with all countries particularly with its neighbours for peace, stability and prosperity in the region. The President stated that Pakistan offers great investment opportunities adding that international investors should take advantage of its investor friendly policies. Talking about Pakistan’s efforts against terrorism, the President said that Pakistan has rendered great sacrifices in fight against terrorism and is committed to end this menace. He stated that Operation Zarb-e-Azb is progressing successfully emphasizing that the operation would continue till elimination of the last terrorist.

The President felicitated the newly appointed Ambassadors and High Commissioners to Pakistan and hoped that they would work for further cementing the existing ties of their respective countries with Pakistan. The President also wished the newly appointed envoys a comfortable and pleasant stay in Pakistan.

Ambassadors and High Commissioners who presented their credentials included Dr. Ali Yassin Mohammed Karim, Ambassador of Iraq, Mr. Gautam H. Bambawale, High-Commissioner of India, Mr. Jan Fury, Ambassador of Czech Republic, Hazrat Omar Zakhilwal, Ambassador of Afghanistan, Mr. Suchart Liengsaengthong, Ambassador of Thailand, Mr. Brendan Ward, High-Commissioner of Ireland (Resident in Turkey) and Mr. Pichkhun Panha, Ambassador of Cambodia (Resident in India).